Tuesday, 7 October 2014

Reading with Chuckles #7


Welcome to Reading with Chuckles! This is where I fill you in on what I'm reading each week-what it is, where I got it or heard about it, what I think of it, if I'm continuing with it or abandoning it and any special offers I'm aware of where you can try the book yourself. Comments are welcome but no spoilers please! It's not fair to other readers!

This has been a much better week for reading. I decided to go back to my Kobo and tackle some of the free books that have been on there for about a year. So I have looked at a few books with pretty mixed results so far.

I'm told the dead are all around us. I see only the violently slain. I've come to terms with that. In fact, I've made a career out of it. They never, ever, forget the face of their killer. We live side by side with the Otherworldy. I call them demons. I'm trying to find a missing boy whose mother was murdered. Or was she? To complicate the case, Clarion PD gave me a partner I would rather shoot than work with. I can't tell them he's a demon. I'm Tiff Banks. Welcome to my world. 

Hmmm. It started out well enough but I hated her ghost roomies Mel and Jack who acted like annoying five year olds all the time. Then we got the cliche romance with the demon whose touch makes her melt against her will. I've read that tired and annoying plot countless times and it bores me now. I hate this male character trend where he will have you whether you want him or not.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6569426-along-came-a-demon 

Abby, 13, is looking forward to watching the moon turn purple, unaware that bacteria from a passing comet will soon kill off older teens and adults. She must help her brother and baby sister survive in this new world, but all the while she has a ticking time bomb inside of her--adolescence.

This one was a decent enough read, well enough written as apocalypse books go but it just lacked that something to really grab and excite me. I felt this book was just too young for me and was certainly aimed at the younger side of YA readers. That's not to say that it was a bad book or not one that adults can enjoy. I just wasn't interested in everyone having crushes on each other when all the adults were dead and the world was never going to be the same! It just lacked the meat of a great apocalypse novel for me.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15772644-night-of-the-purple-moon 


John Fairbrother: prophet, madman, magus. After years in limbo, he's returned with a mission: Collect Human sacrifices. Artemis has an easy life. With no material wants, she can  drift through the days...until a violent encounter with John forces her to join his bloody crusade. You see, John needs her help. He can't create the Knife Lake alone...

Graphic, shocking, and surreal, Knife Lake is a full-throttle horror novel in the tradition of Jack Ketchum, Edward Lee, and Richard Laymon.


I found this full of fancy descriptions, strange plot and weird characters. It was a bit confused and did not flow so I was never engaged with it. 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12732801-knife-lake


After her sister is captured by slaverunners, Brooke teams up on a rescue mission with with another survivor, Ben, whose brother was also taken. What follows is a post-apocalyptic, action-packed thriller where they will have to make some of the hardest choices and sacrifices of their lives.

This one had great potential story-wise but the opening was very slow and I didn't quite find the story real enough. When you don't believe the unfolding plot it is difficult to connect with the characters and what is happening. This is not a bad book, it isn't badly written but it just wasn't what I was looking for when I grabbed it.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13451182-arena-one 

In a world where magic crashed to earth in a rusty spaceship full of starving blood suckers, it’s not easy being a reanimated dead guy. Pete has been murdered by a mentally unhinged one night stand. He’s been reanimated for reasons unknown by persons unknown. This makes him an Animate without an owner, the human equivalent of a stray dog. Afraid of who his owner may be and what they have planned for his undead ass, Pete goes on the run. The King’s Guard are Scotland’s primary recruiters for Animates so Pete knows he has to leave Edinburgh. The portal to Las Vegas could be his only hope or his biggest mistake...


The language is adult but I felt it was overdone and not necessary. I didn't like the MC either. Not a badly written book but just not to my taste. 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18332843-raised 

Donovan Scott witnessed a crazed animal attack his mother when he was a child, and his family has not been the same since.

As an adult he comes to learn that the animal is a demon from a hellish world beneath our own, and that it wants to be free to walk among mankind. In order to do so, however, it needs a host, and it has chosen Donovan's family for its terrible plans.


I didn't like the way this book was written. The reader was being told everything that was happening instead of being showed. Stephen said this. Stephen did that. And there were lots of time jumps which didn't help the story to flow. The story itself was ok if a bit confusing at times but it just wasn't for me.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14743349-the-devil-s-demeanor 

THE ZOMBIE PLAGUES: Book One What if the world ended tomorrow? What would you do? Would you be able to survive? The Zombie Plagues books follow a small group of men and women as they struggle to survive on a vastly changed earth, where the dead sometimes do not remain dead. Mike, Candace, Patty and Ronnie, along with the people that keep the Nation safe, Bear, Beth, Billy and Pearl... The first book follows the beginnings of the Plagues and introduces you to some of the survivors who hope to survive the Zombie Plagues and make it out of Harlem...

There was a distinct lack of zombies and action in the book and far too much of jealous women fighting over the available men, and the men getting annoyed when the women they fancied preferred someone else. If you're looking for an action packed zombie novel with blood and gore, look elsewhere.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18836561-the-zombie-plagues-book-one 

An average couple suddenly find themselves in a not-so-average situation after an odd thunderstorm leaves them with psionic abilities. As they begin to discover what new things they can do, they bring in three friends to help them experiment. When attempts to share these abilities meet early failure, frustration and impatience take over and one of the friends turns out to be not as reliable as they had thought. He decides the military should control these powers, and he doesn't care what that means.

This book had so much scientic jargon and theories that it made my head spin. I found it too technical, too longwinded and too much delving into how scientists examine a problem. It just wasn't exciting or tension filled and it didn't really explain why things were happening.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13451908-discovery  

2 comments:

  1. Whoa, you've been sifting through a lot of these, lately.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This was a productive week for reading!

      Delete